Speech update!! See you Saturday

Hi all,

Just a quick update to let you know that I won’t be responding to emails, Facebook or the blog for a few days!

We set off for a road trip this afternoon and will be back with updates (and photos!) maybe Friday night.

Why are hotel beds so much comfier?

IMG_2667.JPG

See you soon, thanks for the amazing messages of support!!!

P.s my speech (all 7.5 minutes of it) went really well. I felt so emotional, especially since every time I looked up I could see people crying (Bev, Angel, Kathy) or smiling and nodding at me.

Thanks to everyone at the clinic who came up and thanked me/commented on what I said afterwards, so overwhelming. Can’t remember the last time I felt so proud of doing something.

Not only have I had (heaps of) messages from the UK, but today people in the clinic today asking me ‘are you from Angel’s blog’ and recognising Angel. It’s lovely that we have so much support through Angel’s journey.

I just want to add that I felt so honoured to stand up and speak this afternoon, on behalf of Bev, who is one of the strongest women I have met in my life. She has become a second Mum to me out here.

I was so proud to be able to Thank everyone in Jacksonville from the three of us; all the staff and volunteers at proton for the quality of care and treatment we have *all* received. And to all the patients and strangers we have met that quickly became friends.
We feel so lucky to have met so many amazing people.
It has been a life changing experience for the three of us, and I was elated to speak for Angel this afternoon – who is not only strong like her Mum, but courageous, clever and so unbelievably brave. She has dealt with her diagnosis and treatment of her brain tumour in the most mature way, all with an unbelievably positive attitude.

I really hope that comes across in my posts.

Anyway. See ya Saturday!
Elaine x

Leave a Reply

